Global Tax Insights
Customer Tax Notification Reports Due by 1/31 for Remote Sellers in RIJanuary 30, 2018
If you are a remote seller and did not collect RI sales tax from your customers you may need to notify them by January 31st 2018.
If you are a remote seller of taxable goods you must remit use tax notification reports to customers and, in some cases, to state Departments of Revenue in several states.
The exact imposition thresholds and notice requirements vary by state. However, the imposition thresholds range from $10,000 to $100,000 of prior year sales and the notices generally must include the name and address of the consumer, a notice that they may owe use tax on their purchases, and a listing of purchases including dollar amounts. In addition, a number of states impose penalties for noncompliance (e.g., $10,000 or, if more, $10 for each notice not sent to a customer).
Below is a list of the use tax report filing deadlines for the states that currently require such reporting:
January 31, 2018
- Report to customer: Rhode Island, Colorado, Louisiana, Oklahoma (Feb. 1)
- Report to customer and state: Vermont
February 15, 2018
- Report to state: Rhode Island
February 28, 2018
- Report to state: Colorado (Mar. 1), Louisiana (Mar. 1)
- Report to customer and state: Washington
April 1, 2018
- Report to customer and state: Pennsylvania
There are many details of the new tax law including reporting requirements that could potentially change however, nothing has been finalized. For more information or to talk to a member of tax team please contact us.