Skip to main content

Site Navigation

Site Search

global Tax

FATCA Jurisdictions and their Intergovernmental Agreements

February 02, 2015

Countries with intergovernmental agreements (IGAs) under FATCA.

In accordance with the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), several countries have adopted intergovernmental agreements (IGA) to make it easier to comply with FATCA regulations.

Model 1 IGA

Model 1 IGAs require Foreign Financial Institutions (FFIs) to report all FATCA concerned information to their own governmental agencies. Countries that have signed this type of IGA include:

  • Australia
  • Italy
  • South Africa
  • United Kingdom

Model 2 IGA

Model 2 IGAs require FFIs to report FATCA concerned information directly to the IRS. Countries that have signed this type of IGA include:

  • Chile
  • Hong Kong
  • Switzerland

For a complete list of countries and dates they signed their IGAs, read our article, “Jurisdictions with FATCA intergovernmental agreements”

Stay informed. Get all the latest news delivered straight to your inbox.

Also in Tax Blog

up arrow Scroll to Top